A Sledge Hammer & Good Intentions

building-1080599.jpgI’m sitting in the carnage of what was once my ensuite shower staring at the dust, chipped concrete and new scratches on previously pristine tiles.  How did you happen you ask? Good question, and it’s all my fault, let me explain…

I have a problem with “nearly done”.  It springs from growing up in a house where Dad had a 5 year plan that morphed into a 10 and then 20 year plan.  Things half built, nearly finished, never started.  The clock only reset when they moved house and the 5 year plan could start again!

It dove me nuts.  It also drove me to be very self sufficient and a strong feeling that I couldn’t rely on anyone else (but that’s probably another post).

I swore I wouldn’t be one of those women that lived in a nearly done house.  How is it then that 5 years after moving in the house is still a list of niggling things that need doing?

Crazy Cat Boy starts strong (and to be fair he tackles stuff I wouldn’t) but doesn’t finish well.  So I’m on a mission this year to “finish” everything.  This led to getting a quote for retiling the base of our shower re tiled so it drains properly.

This is where the fun started… first I had to get a tiler to show up; then I nearly had a heart attack at the quote from the one tiler that did!

Over the years Crazy Cat Boy and I’ve turned our hands to all sorts of things, with mostly okay outcomes. So we decided that we’d do it ourselves, how hard can it be?

It’s not like we dove right in with a sledge hammer and good intentions.  No we did the responsible thing: We watched some YouTube videos first. This clearly makes us qualified right?  What’s the worst that can happen?  The base will leak and our house will rot from under us, no biggie 😉

The destruction has started and we’ve managed to remove the tiles, the concrete base and the very expensive glass doors.    Now it’s a process of drying it out and using A3 sheets of paper to work out the new tile pattern and drain waste placement.   It’s now I’m also wondering if we just should have sucked it up and paid a professional.

I’m not sure how it will end, but for now it’s an adventure (or a YouTube how not) waiting to happen. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

