I Got It Right A 14

IMG_0107I’ve just come back from a week in my old home State where I’ve been catching up with old school mates, bio family and my “real” family and I’ve come to a realisation;  14 year old me made the right decision to leave where I grew up as soon as I could.

The week started simply enough, get on plane, light hearted Facebook banter with everyone I’m planning to see along the way, jump in hire car and take off for the country where the school mates and bio family are.

That’s where it got weird and I feel a bit conflicted about it, but strangely I’m not surprised.  You’d think after not seeing someone for 25 or so years you might ask them a bit about what they’ve been doing:  I sure did.  I wanted to know how ever one is; what they were doing and if they were happy (for the most part they are, which is great).  I listened to all the life journeys and caught up on the local gossip.  However I can safely say that not one person could tell you a thing about my life apart from where I live.

Now I understand that I’m not a sharer, never have been as my dear friend Super Sammie pointed out.   I know I never really fitted in there, but am I really so dull that they couldn’t ask a couple of questions?  Even my bio family don’t know what I do, mum asked me the name of the company I work for, I’ve only been there 8 years and it’s printed at the end of every email I send.  Sigh.

While it was great to see them and visit some old haunts, I couldn’t wait to get back to my real family;  Supper Sammie, Chatty Michelle and Diehard Di so I could relax and be myself again before I returned home to Crazy Cat Boy and the furry ones.

The moral of this story is ignore those people who tell you that you are too young to make important life decisions, sometimes regardless of your age you know what is right for you.

PS: Do you remember my cherry excitement, well it’s all gone pear shaped, birds ate them while I was away.  I’m devastated.   On the up side while I’ve been Instagraming their progress a local cherry grower has started following me, I’m going to buy some from them instead!

Leave a Reply

