“The One”

I’d set out on my quest with such high hopes.  I wanted desperately to report back with a tale of triumph and joy.hanger

You see something has been missing in my life.  Something that no woman should have to live without, that’s right, I’m missing the perfect top.

I know what you are thinking, how is that possible?  She seems so together, so on top of it all!

My life wasn’t always like this.   For the past four years (I’m not counting “seasons” that’s just depressing) I’d been blessed with “The One”.  Just the right shade of grey, three quarter length sleeve, hit just below the hip in light weight merino, sigh.   I’d confidently throw it on with my skinny jeans, ballet flats and swan out the door knowing that I looked sharp, on trend and completely in control of my wardrobe and life.

However, as with all good things it had to come to an end; Frayed ends as it turns out.  I keep “The One” in my drawer, but we don’t go out in public anymore.

For the past nine months I’ve been feeling disjointed and slightly off when I leave the house.  Yes, I know the replacement top I have is nice, and it was eye wateringly expensive, but it’s not, well… right.  It’s too heavy for a start, I won’t be able to wear it in summer and it’ll be bulky to pack when I travel.  Then there is the sneaking suspicion that the polo neck makes me look a bit old and stumpy, like I’m trying to hide a wrinkly neck*.

So this weekend I left wine country and headed into the city for a dedicated assault on the malls.  I had a list of likely targets in mind and had decided to throw budgetary considerations to the wind!

However it was to no avail.  The kindly assistant in Portmans sympathised with me… “Sorry love, they didn’t do that model this season, I don’t know why, it sold really well.  How about this one, it’s this seasons version?” She helpfully suggested.  But it was too late, I’d tried it on already, it made me look like I was wearing my 20 year old friends top in a misguided attempt to look fashionable.

I admitted defeat and headed back to wine country, stopping only to buy a bottle of red to drown my sorrows.

There is a solution to this though, I’ve decided to stay home on weekends for the foreseeable future, I think that’s easiest for all concerned!

*Disclaimer: It’s not that bad yet that I have to hide it.

Leave a Reply

